When you terminate a Microsoft account, whether it’s because you no longer need it or because it’s a duplicate account, Microsoft wants two things to happen:
To prevent your account from being cancelled inadvertently, we may require you to authenticate your identity and intent. For example, if you forgot your account information and had to reset your security information, you must wait at least 60 days before deleting your account.
If you are certain that you wish to terminate your Microsoft account, follow these steps:
Expand the paragraph headers below to learn more about what you should look for initially.
Follow the instructions for closing your account.
Learn what happens when you close your account.